Open Letter: Let’s make Vancouver the Most Beautiful City on Earth

March 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

Dear Vancouver City Councillors,
Every day when I leave my home I am bombarded with advertisements. I believe that people should only be subject to advertising in a medium that they choose to consume. For example, if I buy a magazine I am choosing to consume that media and therefore I consent to being advertised to.  When I leave the house to ride my bike, walk or drive in our great city I don’t consent to being advertised to.  When people choose to consume cable TV they consent to being advertised to.

Here in BC we are often told that this is the greatest place on earth–Beautiful BC, but how can this be beautiful BC if there are outdoor advertisements constantly distracting people and sullying our landscapes?  How are we, the people of BC, supposed to feel grounded when we’re constantly attacked by consumer messages?  How are we supposed to educate our children about healthy eating habits when they are drenched in advertising for McDonalds and aspartame soda?  How are we supposed to encourage people to live an environmentally sound existence when they are constantly encouraged to over consume?

Please, I ask you to do something novel and amazing: ban outdoor advertising in Vancouver.  Let’s make Vancouver the most beautiful city on earth.

Sincerely,

G

 

[sent by mass email]

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Open Letter: Let’s make Vancouver the Most Beautiful City on Earth at Lazarus Letters.

meta

