Vancity Credit Union: Cut the Pop Music

January 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hi.  Yesterday I went into the Burnaby Heights location to withdraw my rent / bills / grocery money, but as soon as I got in line I was assaulted by loathsome modern pop music.  I only lasted a few seconds in line before retreating for the ATM machine, where I could not withdraw all of the money I needed, but at least I was free of that awful sound.

But no, as I walked to the grocery store the terrible song that was on in the credit union was still in my head, and I had to live with it in there my whole way home.  Not only was I late with my bill money because I had to make a second trip to the ATM today to get the rest of the money, but my day took a turn for the worse.

Let me ask you this simple question: Are the majority of your members over or under the age of 16?  Is the answer ‘over’?  I think it is.  Then why do you put on a commercial radio format that is directed at teenagers?  What gives you the right to blare advertisements at your members?

That reminds me, the time before that, when I did make it to the teller I found my view completely surrounded by TV screens.  I mean seriously: do you really think that people don’t get enough screen time at home in front of the TV, at work in front of the computer and staring at their phones in between?  What makes you think people need to watch 5 TVs at once while they’re at the bank?  You need to understand that people go to the credit union not because they want to, but because they have to, so you should at least make the environment in them bearable rather than antagonizing.

Being completely out of step with your customers–that’s the kind of thing I’d expect from a major bank, not a credit union.  If you want my advice about the radio station, play something non-commercial, like CBC.  Please stop insulting the intelligence of your members.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vancity Credit Union: Cut the Pop Music at Lazarus Letters.

meta

